KALEVALA
Калевала 1999-2001
Калевала'99

Viola Malmi's "Kalevala"

Remember, what the small village Kindasovo has become famous for in all Karelia (and beyond it bounds)? It has got its own the folklore holiday. Viola Malmi, the initiator of the Kindasovo tradition, the specialist in folklore, the author of books about Karelian dances, the head of national collective "Karelskaya gornitsa" has presented the world with this original phenomenon. For over thirty years that Malmi goes to the Karelian villages with the ethnographic mission, and perhaps she had had a lot of discoveries of this kind there. But for herself for a long time and for ever she, the daughter of well-known choreographer Helmi Malmi, has made the only one: the real not depreciated culture, is born not in megacities, but in the sticks, in such small places.

Now imagine a tiny commune in the north of Finland, designated with hardly appreciable point even on detailed maps. There are five and a half thousand inhabitants. Quite close to the Polar circle. One of the basic points of interest is the most northern zoo in the world. This is Ranua that has become rather popular all over the country a few years ago. Then Viola Malmi has conceived and carried out here the grandiose on local scales project - a series of annual folklore performances (the genre of this action is hard to define, therefore to we would give it code name) on motives of epic folk poems of "Kalevala". The scope of the conceived performance was so great that the first performance "Battle for Sampo" has been awarded with the Finnish national premium. One of the following ones - "Aino" - is brought in the calendar devoted to the 80th anniversary of Finland where it is marked in a number of other significant cultural events of the past decades. At the end of present February the next premiere - "Wedding in Pohjola" has resounded.

For the inhabitants of Ranua each representation turns to annual festival, in which all inhabitants of the commune, from is small up to greater participante.

It has began as follows. More than ten years ago Malmi has been invited in Ranua to prepare teachers on dance.

- Since the theme of Kalevala has constantly presented in my work, we have started with "Kalevala". We have simply opened the book and began to dream, create the libretto, and images... Once I noticed that my wards pull whence out tremendous suits. It has appeared, that they had been sewed specially for fantastic statement which the inhabitants of Ranua gave there some time ago right in the street, in the zoo. And they were used - such expensive and beautiful - only once...

So there has appeared the idea to stage "Kalevala", having connected dance, drama, folklore and costume entertainment performance with the scenery in the open-air. According to this plan the place in the majestic park with a huge boulder in the middle, and a ladder was chosen. The actors from "Karelskaya gornitsa" has both rehearsed, and prepared the "stage" clearing away the platform, cleaning snow.

Viola Malmi, the director, the scriptwriter, the choreographer and the ideological inspirer of the future performances, had to work with two collectives at once - her own and Finnish, spontaneously amateur and besides uneven-aged as the performance assumed participation of a plenty of children. Rehearsals were conducted in Finland and in Karelia separately, and right before the performance collectives in which hundreds people were involved, got together.

The first performance, recollects Malmi, spectators had watched standing knee-deep in snow. Then the local engineer Erkki Kuusela has come to her with the following offer: "Good work deserves good framing". Due to his technical genius the other performances passed within the walls of the annually erected remarkable snow scenery. It represents a huge fortress with the set of entrances and exits, with the box, the stage and even with all sorts of elegant decorations like ice windows with real flowers frozen in them and the snow figures representing different animals. The head of the Ranua centre of leisure Inkeri Peuna, the constant "mistress of Pohjola" and the organizer of the holiday, and the owner of the drugstore Volle Vasilek, who voluntary and disinterestedly (as well as the others) accepted responsibility for light, sound and so forth, have joined the project the same natural way.

- I was completely subdued with that pleasure with which the inhabitants of Ranua undertake any work. They have nothing in burden, they do not consider, if they do something special. And the most important is that they quiveringly concern to another's work... - Malmi admitted.

The fact, that the studio where metal ornaments on ancient samples for the suits which are developed by specially invited designer are forged now is created in Ranua speaks about gravity with which the inhabitants of the commune consider the arisen tradition. There's one more detail: together with the ordinary inhabitants of Ranua in representation participate, for example, the director of the dairy plant, the head of local administration of culture. "We have an amateur level of good professionalism", - Malmi defines the quality of the performance.

The citizens of Petrozavodsk could see "Aino" twice on the summer city holidays. The one who had the luck, for certain has estimated also the charm of the music (Alexander Sultanshin, Vladimir Oskolkov), and the magnificence of suits (from "speaking" details: the bees' wings are made of the most thin mica), and the scale of the plan as a whole is worth of "Kalevala". The last performance, actually its fragments, had been shown during the days of Karelia in Moscow, and our spectator could see it at the Day of the City '99. But...

- It is necessary to stage and listen to "Kalevala" in Finnish, - Malmi is convinced. - The fair part of poetics is inevitably lost at any translation, the same as it happens with any epos - whether it is "Iliada" or the Irish sagas.

Viola Malmi already lives with the next performance. She is concerned with the story of Kullervo, the bogatyr-turncoat of Kalevala, one of the shrillest plots of the epos. Probably, the next winter it will be told in the small commune of Ranua.

Snezhana SLEPKOVA
"Petrozavodsk" newspaper, #13 (456) March, 26, 1999

"Kalevala-99"

KALEVALA
Калевала 1999-2001
Калевала'99
Рунопевцы
Эпос "Калевала"
"Калевала" избранное
Образы "Калевалы"
Кантелетар
Кантеле
Калевала и дети
Справочные материалы

"Калевала" Виолы Мальми

Помните, чем на всю Карелию (и за ее пределами) прославилась маленькая деревушка Киндасово? У нее появился свой фольклорный праздник. Подарила миру сие самобытное явление зачинщик киндасовской традиции Виола Мальми хореограф, фольклорист, автор книг о карельских танцах, руководитель народного коллектива "Карельская горница". За тридцать с лишним лет, что ездит Мальми по карельским деревням со своей этнографической миссией, такого рода открытий, наверное, было немало. Но для себя давно и навсегда она, дочь знаменитого хореографа Хельми Мальми, сделала одно: культура, настоящая, не обесцениваемая, рождается не в мегаполисах, а в глубинке, в таких вот небольших местах.

Теперь представьте крохотную коммуну на севере Финляндии, обозначенную даже на подробных картах едва заметной точкой. Пять с половиной тысяч жителей. До Полярного круга - рукой подать. Из достопримечательностей основная, но едва ли не единственная - самый северный в мире зоопарк. Такова Рануа, ставшая по-настоящему известной всей стране несколько лет назад. Тогда Виола Мальми задумала и осуществила здесь грандиозный по местным масштабам проект - серию ежегодных фольклорных спектаклей (жанр этого действа трудноопределим, поэтому ему дается лишь условное название) по мотивам рун "Калевалы". Размах задуманного оказался таков, что первый же спектакль "Битва за Сампо" был удостоен финской национальной премии. Один из последующих - "Айно" - занесен в календарь, посвященный восьмидесятилетию Финляндии, где отмечен в ряду других знаменательных культурных событий прошедших десятилетий. В конце нынешнего февраля отгремела очередная премьера - "Свадьба в Похьеле".

Для рануальцев каждое представление превращается в ежегодное празднество, участниками которого становятся жители коммуны, все от мала до велика.

А началось все вот как. Больше десяти лет назад Мальми пригласили в Рануа подготовить педагогов по танцу.

- Поскольку калевальская тема в моей работе присутствовала постоянно, мы и начали с "Калевалы". Просто открыли книгу и стали фантазировать, создавать либретто, образы... Однажды смотрю: мои подопечные вытаскивают откуда-то потрясающие костюмы. Оказалось, их шили специально для сказочной постановки, которую рануальцы давали некогда прямо на улице, в зоопарке. А пригодились они - такие дорогие и красивые - всего один раз...

Так возникла идея поставить "Калевалу", соединив танец, драму, фольклор и кос- тюмное зрелищное представление с декорациями. И все это под открытым небом. В соответствии с замыслом было выбрано и место величественный парк с огромным валуном посередине, лестница "Карельская горница" и репетировала, и "сцену" готовила: артисты расчищали площадку, убирали снег.

Виоле Мальми, режиссеру, сценаристу, хореографу и идейному вдохновителю будущих спектаклей, пришлось работать сразу с двумя коллективами - своим и финским, стихийно- самодеятельным и к тому же разновозрастным, поскольку постановка предполагала участие большого количества детей. Репетиции велись в Финляндии и в Карелии отдельно, а непосредственно перед представлением коллективы, в которых были задействованы сотни людей, сводились вместе.

Первый спектакль, вспоминает Мальми, зрители смотрели, стоя по колено в снегу. После чего к ней подошел местный инженер Эркки Куусела со следующим предложением: "Хороший труд достоин хорошего обрамления". Благодаря его техническому гению все остальные представления проходили в стенах замечательной снежной декорации, воздвигаемой ежегодно. Она представляет собой огромную крепость со множеством входов и выходов, со зрительной ложей, сценой и даже всякого рода изящностями вроде ледяных окон с вмороженными в них живыми цветами и снежных фигур, изображающих разных животных. Так же естественно в проект "влились" и руководитель рануальского центра досуга Инкери Пеуна - неизменная "хозяйка Похъелы" и организатор праздника, и известный в этих краях человек Воллэ Василек, владелец аптеки, добровольно и бескорыстно (как и все остальные) взявший на себя ответственность за свет, звук и пр.

- Меня совершенно покорила та радость, с которой рануальцы берутся за любую работу. Им ничто не в тягость, они не считают, будто делают что-то особенное. И самое главное -трепетно относятся к чужому труду... - признавалась Мальми.

О серьезности, с которой жители коммуны относятся к народившейся традиции, говорит хотя бы тот факт, что в Рануа теперь создана студия, где куются металлические украшения по старинным образцам к костюмам, которые разрабатывает специально приглашенный дизайнер. И еще деталь: вместе с рядовыми ранульцами в представлении участвуют, например, директор молокозавода, руководитель местного управления культуры "У нас самодеятельный уровень хорошего профессионализма", - определяет Мальми качество постановки.

Петрозаводчане могли видеть "Айно" дважды на летних городских праздниках. Тот, кому посчастливилось, наверняка оценил и очарование музыки (Александр Султаншин, Владимир Осколков), и великолепие костюмов (из "говорящих" подробностей: крылышки у пчелок - из тончайшей слюды), и достойный "Калевалы" масштаб замысла в целом. Последний спектакль - вернее, его фрагменты -будет показан на Днях Карелии в Москве, а на Дне города-99 его увидит и наш зритель. Но...

- "Калевалу" надо ставить и слушать на финском языке, - убеждена Мальми. - При любом переводе неизбежно утрачивается изрядная часть поэтики, так же, как это случается с любым эпосом - будь то "Илиада" или ирландские саги.

Виола Мальми живет уже следующим спектаклем. Ее занимает история Куллерво, калевальского богатыря-отщепенца, один из самых пронзительных сюжетов эпоса. Возможно, следующей зимой она будет рассказана в маленькой коммуне Рануа.

Снежана СЛЕПКОВА
Газета "Петрозаводск", 13 (456) 26 марта 1999 года

"Калевала-99"