KALEVALA
Кантеле
Калевала'99

Kantele is a stringed instrument of Karelian and Finnish peoples played by plucking. It has the centuries-old history. From time immemorial kantele played such a big role in the life of people, that its value leaves far beyond the frameworks of just a musical instrument. Kantele is not simply the musical instrument, it is the symbol uniting in such concepts, as culture, labour activity, and historical development of many generations of northern people.

The first instruments were totally hollowed and had five strings. The chest of the kantele was made of alder, the pegs were made of birch, the strings were made of the horsehair. In the process of development of musical culture the instrument was improved. They began to make the top deck of the fur-tree plate. On change to strings from the horsehair there appeared the tendon, and then the metal ones. The number of strings was also increased. The most widespread were 5-, 10-, 12- and 16-string kanteles which had the diatonic pitch. Now in Karelia the two versions of kantele exist, the diatonic and chromatic. The diatonic kantele is intended for performance of folk music. For performance of classical music it is necessary to have the instrument with chromatic sound, which has caused the necessity for improvement of the instrument. On chromatic kantele it is possible to perform both national, and classical music.

The first who has addressed to manufacturing chromatic kantele was Elias Lonnrot, founder of "Kalevala". In 1830-1840 he has made two chromatic kanteles, one of which is stored now in the museum in Finland. In the beginning of the 30th years of the XX century under the direction of V.P.Gudkov, the employee of folklore section of the scientific research institute, the masters Kluhin and Yamschikov have made kantele with chromatic pitch, and in 1936 the State ensemble of the KASSR "Kantele" was created under the leadership of V.P.Gudkov.

Now the chromatic kantele has been widely practised in Finland.

The significant work on manufacturing chromatic kantele was done by the masters Kluhin, Yamschikov, Crystal Cook.

Now there exist kantele-prima, kantele-alto, and kantele-bass.

KALEVALA
Кантеле
Калевала'99
Рунопевцы
Эпос "Калевала"
"Калевала" избранное
Образы "Калевалы"
Кантелетар
Кантеле
Калевала и дети
Справочные материалы

Кантеле - щипковый инструмент карельского и финского народов. Имеет многовековую историю. С незапамятных времен кантеле играло такую большую роль в жизни людей, что его значение выходит далеко за рамки, как только музыкального инструмента. Кантеле - это не просто музыкальный инструмент, это символ, объединяющий в себе такие понятия, как культура, трудовая деятельность и историческое развитие многих поколений людей северного народа.

Первые инструменты были цельно долблеными и имели пять струн. Короб кантеле изготавливали из ольхи, колки из березы, струны из конского волоса. По мере развития музыкальной культуры совершенствовался и инструмент. Верхнюю деку стали изготавливать из еловой дощечки. На смену струнам из конского волоса пришли жильные, а затем и металлические. Увеличивалось и количество струн. Наиболее распространенными были 5-ти, 10-ти, 12-ти и 16-ти струнные кантеле, которые имели диатонический строй. В настоящее время в Карелии существует две разновидности кантеле, диатоническое и хроматическое. Диатоническое кантеле предназначено для исполнения народной музыки. Для исполнения классической музыки необходимо иметь инструмент с хроматическим звукорядом, чем и была вызвана необходимость в усовершенствовании инструмента. На хроматическом кантеле можно исполнять как народную, так и классическую музыку.

Первым, кто обратился к изготовлению хроматического кантеле, был Элиас Леннрот - создатель "Калевалы". В 1830-1840 гг. им было изготовлено два хроматических кантеле, одно из которых сейчас хранится в музее в Финляндии. В начале 30-х годов нашего столетия под руководством сотрудника фольклорной секции научно-исследовательского института В.П.Гудкова мастерами Клюхиным и Ямщиковым были изготовлены кантеле с хроматическим строем, а в 1936 г. был создан Государственный ансамбль КАССР "Кантеле" во главе с В.П.Гудковым.

В настоящее время хроматическое кантеле получило свое распространение и в Финляндии.

Большую работу по изготовлению хроматических кантеле проделали мастера Клюхин, Ямщиков, Кристал, Кук

В настоящее время изготавливаются кантеле-прима, кантеле-альт и кантеле-бас.